Latest News

NMPF Members Gather in Reno for 94th Annual Meeting

November 5, 2010


NMPF Members Gather in Reno for 94th Annual Meeting

Over 900 people representing various sectors of the dairy industry gathered at the Grand Sierra Resort in Reno, Nevada last week at the joint annual meeting of the National Milk Producers Federation (NMPF), the National Dairy Promotion and Research Board (NDB), and the United Dairy Industry Association (UDIA). It was NMPF's 94th Annual Meeting. Highlights of the meeting included appearances by researcher and author Jason Jennings; Informa Economics' Jim Wiesemeyer; and NFL Hall of Famer Howie Long.

NMPF Chairman Randy Mooney and President & CEO Jerry Kozak presented a joint speech to the membership again this year, describing the progress NMPF has made on a variety of legislative, regulatory, and economic issues, including the Foundation for the Future initiative.

Two new members were welcomed to the NMPF Board of Directors: Tim den Dulk, Continental Dairy Products; and Dennis Tonak, Mid-West Dairyman’s Cooperative. NMPF re-elected the current slate of officers.

At the Awards Luncheon, NMPF presented Certificate of Appreciation awards to the following retiring directors: Tom Camerlo, Dairy Farmers of America, Inc. (in memoriam); Rod DeJong, Northwest Dairy Association; Joe Kusilek, Ellsworth Cooperative Creamery; and Perry Tjaarda, Dairy Farmers of America, Inc.

NMPF also presented awards to recognize Honorary Directors: Tom Camerlo, Dairy Farmers of America, Inc. (in memoriam); and Rod DeJong, Northwest Dairy Association.

Kozak introduced the new NMPF Leadership Hall of Fame Award, which recognizes individuals possessing superlative and unparalleled leadership abilities, whose lasting accomplishments have brought about the betterment of NMPF as an organization, and the dairy producer community it serves. The award was given posthumously to former NMPF Chairman Tom Camerlo.

The 2010 Grand Champion Cheese was awarded to Agri-Mark, Inc. for its McCadam New York Empire Jack, produced in Chateaugay, NY. This year's Outstanding Achievement in Communications Award was awarded to the Dairy Farmers of America Communications Team.

Matt and Kristie Dorsey from Northwest Dairy Association were elected to be the new 2011 Young Cooperator (YC) Chaircouple. Next year's Vice Chaircouple will be Brandon and Megan Miller from Land O'Lakes, Inc., and Jared and Genny Myers from Dairy Farmers of America, Inc. will be the Secretary Couple.

Other 2011 YC Advisory Council members include: Marlow Duffy, Agri-Mark, Inc.; David and Jennifer Collins, Dairylea Cooperative Inc.; Matthew and Cindy Damm, Dairy Farmers of America, Inc.; Charlie and Sherry Patterson, Maryland & Virginia Milk Producers Cooperative; Burke and Lisa Larsen, Michigan Milk Producers Association; Travis and Jenna Frauhiger, Prairie Farms Dairy, Inc.; Roy and Shiloh Johnson, Swiss Valley Farms Company; Josh and April Neahring, Tillamook County Creamery Association; Kevin and Melanie Danzeisen, United Dairymen of Arizona; and William and Jamie Purdy, Upstate Niagara Cooperative, Inc.

The YCs appreciated everyone who purchased raffle tickets at the meeting. Thanks to the generous contributions of meeting participants, the raffle raised over $9,000 for NMPF's scholarship fund, which will be used to award scholarship to graduate students pursuing dairy-related fields of study next year.

Speeches and presentations from the 2010 Annual Meeting are available on the NMPF website. All of NMPF's photos from the meeting are also publicly available via Flickr.