Latest News

NMPF Congratulates Recipients of 2010 Scholarship Program

August 2, 2010


NMPF Congratulates Recipients of 2010 Scholarship Program

At its June meeting, the NMPF Scholarship Committee was pleased to select five M.S. and Ph.D. students to receive $9,500 in scholarships as part of the 2010 NMPF National Dairy Leadership Scholarship Program.

These five scholarship recipients are all conducting research in areas that will benefit dairy cooperatives and producers.

The 2010 Hintz Memorial Scholarship, given to the top scholarship candidate, was awarded to Chad Mullins (left). As a student at Kansas State University, Mullins is working toward his Ph.D. in Animal Science. His research will test whether or not zilpaterol hydrochloride improves transition cow health. Mullins hopes to provide the dairy industry with a way to enhance the metabolic status of periparturient dairy cows by inducing prepartum lipolysis and increasing lean tissue mass.

The other four scholarship recipients were:

  • Karen Lobeck, a student at the University of Minnesota, is working toward her M.S. in Animal Science. Her research will examine dairy calf health and behavior with automated group feeding.
  • Phil Cardoso is attending the University of Illinois, as he works for his Ph.D. in Animal Science. Cardoso will study the bioavailability of Naringenin administered to lactating dairy cows and their metabolic responses to an insulin resistance induction (IRI).
  • Jaymelynn Farney, a student at Kansas State University, is pursuing a Ph.D. in Ruminant Nutrition and Physiology. Her research will address the therapeutic treatment of bovine fatty liver by sodium salicylate.
  • Joseph Loquasto is pursuing his Ph.D. in Food Science at Penn State University. Loquasto will conduct a comparison of the complete genomes of Bifidobacterium animalis subsp. animalis ATCC 25527 and Bifidobacterium animalis subsp. lactis DSMZ 101040.

The Scholarship Committee was impressed by the response rate this year. Committee members thanked all of the students who submitted applications for the 2010 program and encouraged them to apply again next year.

Photos of this year's scholarship recipients are posted in an album at If you have any questions about the NMPF scholarship program, please contact Sarah Olson