Latest News

Dairy Industry Assembles for Joint Annual Meeting

December 2, 2011

Nearly 1,000 people from multiple sectors of the U.S. dairy industry gathered at the Town and Country Resort & Convention Center in San Diego, CA, from November 14 – 16, for thejoint annual meeting of NMPF, the National Dairy Promotion and Research Board, and the United Dairy Industry Association. It was the 95th annual meeting for NMPF. The sunny southern California weather appealed to many dairy producers, as registration was up from the previous year.

Presentations and topics of conversation centered on the meeting’s theme of “Navigating a New Course.” In a joint address to the membership, NMPF Chairman Randy Mooney (pictured above left) and President & CEO Jerry Kozak provided updates on the efforts made over the previous year to reform dairy policy through the organization’s Foundation for the Future initiative (now known as the Dairy Security Act of 2011). They also cited other successes that NMPF achieved on other legislative, regulatory, and economic issues.

All members of NMPF’s 2011 Board of Directors will serve again in 2012, although there were several changes in the 2012 slate of officers. Ken Nobis, Michigan Milk Producers Association, was elected the new First Vice Chairman with the retirement of Clyde Rutherford, Dairylea Cooperative Inc. Mike McCloskey, Select Milk Producers, was elected Third Vice Chairman; Doug Nuttelman, Dairy Farmers of America, was elected Assistant Secretary; Pete Kappelman, Land O’Lakes, was elected Treasurer; and Adrian Boer, Northwest Dairy Association, was elected Assistant Treasurer. Randy Mooney, Dairy Farmers of America, will continue to serve as Chairman. Cornell Kasbergen, Land O’Lakes, will continue to serve as Second Vice Chairman.

At the Awards Luncheon, NMPF presented Certificate of Appreciation awards to the following retiring directors: Paul Johnston, Agri-Mark; Paul Toft, Associated Milk Producers Inc.; and John Underwood, Northwest Dairy Association. As recognition of superlative and unparalleled leadership abilities, Rutherford was presented with the NMPF Leadership Hall of Fame award. Rutherford, who has been involved with NMPF’s board since 1980, worked to bring about the betterment of NMPF as an organization and the dairy producer community it serves.

Foremost Farms USA received the 2011 Grand Champion Cheese for its Extra Sharp Cheddar produced in Marshfield, WI. The Outstanding Achievement in Communications Award was presented to Frances Lechner, United Dairymen of Arizona.

Lonny and Michelle Schilter from Northwest Dairy Association were elected the new 2012 Young Cooperator Chaircouple. Next year’s Vice Chaircouple will be David and Addi Foster from Dairy Farmers of America, and Kelly Dugan from United Dairymen of Arizona will be the Secretary.

Other 2012 YC Advisory Council members include: Brian and Jennifer Lynch, Agri-Mark; Walt and Jessica Gamblin, Dairy Farmers of America; Todd and Heather Hyman, Dairylea Cooperative Inc.; Rachael Crane, Foremost Farms USA; Michael and Jackie Oosten, Land O’Lakes; James and LaVaun Janney, Maryland & Virginia Milk Producers Cooperative; Jeremy and Jody Sharrard, Michigan Milk Producers Association; Doug Lindauer and Jessica Beck, Prairie Farms Dairy; Rebecca and Patrick Howrigan, St. Albans Cooperative Creamery; Matt and Kristi Strief, Swiss Valley Farms; Derrick Josi, Tillamook County Creamery Association; and Bradley Almeter, Upstate Niagara Cooperative.

Speeches and presentations from the 2011 annual meeting are available on the NMPF website. All of NMPF’s photos from the meeting are available on Flickr. Visitors to NMPF’s Flickr page may save photos to their own computers by right-clicking on an image and selecting a preferred size. If anyone would like to have a photo emailed to them or would like an original, high-resolution file, they may contact Sarah Olson.