

National Milk Producers Federation

2107 Wilson Blvd., #600 Arlington, VA 22201 P.703-243-6111 www.nmpf.org

Agri-Mark, Inc. Associated Milk Producers Inc.

Bongards' Creameries

Burnett Dairy Cooperative

California Dairies, Inc.

Cayuga Marketing

Cooperative Milk **Producers Association**

Dairy Farmers of America, Inc. Ellsworth

Cooperative Creamery

FarmFirst Dairy Cooperative

First District Association

Foremost Farms USA

Land O'Lakes, Inc.

Lone Star Milk **Producers**

Maryland & Virginia Milk Producers Cooperative Association

Michigan Milk **Producers Association**

Mount Joy Farmers Cooperative Association

Northwest Dairy Association

Oneida-Madison Milk **Producers Cooperative** Association

Prairie Farms Dairy, Inc.

Scioto Cooperative Milk Producers' Association

Southeast Milk, Inc.

Tillamook County Creamery Association

United Dairvmen of Arizona

Upstate Niagara Cooperative, Inc. November 17, 2022

The Honorable Ron Wyden

Chairman

U.S. Senate Committee on Finance

Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Mike Crapo Ranking Member

U.S. Senate Committee on Finance Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Richard Neal

Chairman

U.S. House Committee on Ways and Means 219 Dirksen Senate Office Building 1102 Longworth House Office Building

Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Kevin Brady

Ranking Member

U.S. House Committee on Ways and Means 219 Dirksen Senate Office Building 1139 Longworth House Office Building

Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Chairmen Wyden and Neal and Ranking Members Crapo and Brady:

On behalf of thousands of dairy farmers across America and our farmer-owned cooperatives that manufacture high-quality dairy products – including multiple dairy ingredients used in the production of infant formula - in this country, I write to express the National Milk Producers Federation's appreciation for the careful and measured approach that Congress brought earlier this year to the issue of enacting temporary tariff-free treatment for imported infant formulas and infant formula base powder to address a dire and unique short-term gap in domestic formula production capacity.

Due to the carefully tailored and time-limited nature of those bills, the National Milk Producers Federation was pleased to be able to support the Formula Act and did not oppose passage of the subsequent Bulk Infant Formula to Retail Shelves Act. Both pieces of legislation rightfully expire at the end of this year, in recognition of the fact that the height of the temporary infant formula production crisis would have passed by December 31, 2022.

Congress's judgement on this timeline was entirely appropriate. Reports indicate that the facility that experienced production disruption earlier this year has resumed operations and that supplies have largely been restored. As early as September FDA noted positive resumption of available supplies, while also observing that consumer purchasing and store stocking practices at that time were still on the path to recovery.

Given that the temporary production shortfall that gripped American families in need of formula earlier this year has abated, we urge Congress to ensure that the unique, unilateral tariff benefits granted to our trading

partners under the Formula Act and the Bulk Infant Formula to Retail Shelves Act end as scheduled at the close of this year. We respectfully request your opposition to any effort to extend these preferential tariff benefits beyond the end of this year.

In the coming year, we hope to work with the Administration and with all relevant Congressional committees to foster a constructive focus on improving the ability of U.S. formula manufacturers to produce more infant formula here at home in order to create a net-exporter footing and continue to support the many good American jobs involved in this essential sector of the U.S. economy.

Sincerely,

Jim Mulhern President and CEO

Cc:

Secretary Tom Vilsack, U.S. Department of Agriculture

Commissioner Robert M. Califf, M.D., MACC, Food and Drug Administration

Ambassador Katherine Tai, U.S. Trade Representative's Office

Senate Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry Committee Chairwoman Debbie Stabenow

Senate Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry Committee Ranking Member John Boozman

House Agriculture Committee Chairman David Scott

House Agriculture Committee Ranking Member Glenn "GT" Thompson

Senate Health, Education, Labor & Pensions Committee Chair Patty Murray

Senate Health, Education, Labor & Pensions Committee Ranking Member Richard Burr

House Energy & Commerce Chairman Frank Pallone

House Energy & Commerce Ranking Member Cathy McMorris Rodgers